Welcome to the UTD Instructor Directory. All search functions are based on FIRST NAME. Please use the two drop down menus to filter for location or to find tech and cave instructors and instructor trainers. If you have any questions, please contact us by clicking here.

Alan Weinberg

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: alan.weinberg@utdscubadiving.com

Alan Weinberg

Foundational Instructor

Madrid, Spain

Alan Williams

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: rheas@rheasdiving.com

All of my life I have been fascinated with the underwater world and dreamed of exploring its wonders. That dream became reality when I took my first SCUBA class the summer after graduating high school! Learning to dive was the start of an adventure that has taken me around the globe, shown me amazing sights that few people ever get to experience, met some of my best friends, develop a career and business spanning over 20 years. Although I am tasked with the mundane responsibilities common to any business, I cannot imagine doing anything else!

I have always enjoyed participating in and teaching all types of diving. My favorite activities include underwater videography and “technical” diving (cave, shipwreck, mixed-gas, etc.) There are no words to explain the satisfaction I receive from diving whether it is capturing a colorful reef creature on film or exploring the interior of a long forgotten shipwreck with my friends and customers!

Alan Williams

Foundational Instructor

Maryville, Tennessee, USA

Alessandro Verginella

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: alessandro@utdscubadiving.com

Alessandro Verginella

Foundational Instructor

Gorizia, Italy

Andrea Cappa

Position: Foundational, Tech, Cave Instructor and IT
Email: andrea.cappa@utdscubadiving.com

Andrea Cappa

Foundational, Tech, Cave Instructor and IT

Verona, Italy

Andrea Savelli

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: andrea.savelli@utdscubadiving.com

Andrea Savelli

Foundational Instructor

Rome, Italy

Andrej Gaspar

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: andrej@utdscubadiving.com

Andrej Gaspar

Foundational Instructor

Slovak Republic

Ben Bos

Position: Training Director / Tech Instructor / Instructor Trainer
Email: ben@utdscubadiving.com
Can Teach: All Foundational, All Technical, Side Mount, IDC

Ben Bos

Training Director / Tech Instructor / Instructor Trainer

Skanderborg, Denmark

Brian Wiederspan

Position: Foundational, Tech, Cave Instructor and IT
Email: brian@utdscubadiving.com

Brian Wiederspan

Foundational, Tech, Cave Instructor and IT

Seattle, WA USA

Brian Younghoon Kim

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: brian.kim@utdscubadiving.com

Brian Younghoon Kim

Foundational Instructor

Seoul, Korea

Carlos Torres

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: carlos@utdscubadiving.com

Carlos Torres

Foundational Instructor

Tulum, Mexico

Casper Dreiøe

Position: Foundational and Cave Instructor
Email: casper@dyk-dir.dk

Casper Dreiøe

Foundational and Cave Instructor

Copenhagen, Denmark

Chew Poh Chang

Position: Foundational, Tech, Cave Instructor and IT
Email: chewpc@utdscubadiving.com
Chew Poh Chang has been diving since 1991. His passion for diving sees him progress from a recreational diver to Instructor and Course Director with NAUI/IANTD/DAN/UTD. Poh Chang has been teaching for more than 20 years and has trained recreational divers, technical divers, instructors, instructor trainers and course directors. His key focus is to provide safe and quality training, actively promoting UTD and Hogarthian philosophies and encourages divers to be a “thinking diver”. His diving and experience has been mainly:
1) South China Karst Plain Project SCKPP project lead
2) Asia Extreme ICE Diving Project AEIDP Deep wrecks in South China Sea
3) Asia Pacific Shipwreck Expedition Project APSEP
4) 360 Mapping of Mexico Caves lead member
In his leisure time, another newly developed passion is to cruise through the wrecks with his underwater scooter and documenting the wonders of underwater with his video camera.
Diving Qualification
UTD Tech/Cave/Wreck Instructor Trainer #18
NAUI Course Director and Technical Instructor NAUI First aid/CPR/AED/Oxygen Instructor
NAUI DPV Instructor (Dive-X DPV)
IANTD Technical Instructor IANTD Trimix and Meg RB Diver
DAN Oxygen Instructor
Diving Interests
Poh Chang is an avid underwater photographer and 360 video pioneer. When he is not teaching, you will see him in the water with his 360 camera taking photographs and videos for his gallery. He is particularly attracted to caves and wrecks as they give him a sense of mystery. Now he enjoys traveling and sharing UTD skills and knowledge to anyone around the world.
Social Media

Chew Poh Chang

Foundational, Tech, Cave Instructor and IT

Singapore

Claudio Valtz

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: claudio@utdscubadiving.com

Claudio Valtz

Foundational Instructor

Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain

Dae Wui Jung

Position: Foundational and Scientific Diving Instructor
Email: dae.wui.jung@utdscubadiving.com

Hello!! I am Dae-Wui Jung, a Nudibranch taxonomist and scientific-technical diver, working in South Korea and the California, United States. If you want to train yourself, let’s go diving with me!!! Please do not hesitate to contact me.

안녕하세요!! 저는 한국과 미국에서 나새류(갯민숭달팽이)의 계통분류에 대해 공부하고 있는 정대위입니다. 해양생물 공부 및 다이빙 훈련에 관심이 있으시면, 주저하지 말고 연락주세요~ 감사합니다!!

Dae Wui Jung

Foundational and Scientific Diving Instructor

Daejeon, Korea

Daniel Schelvis

Position: Foundational and Tech Instructor
Email: daniel@utdscubadiving.com

Daniel Schelvis

Foundational and Tech Instructor

La Herradura, Spain

Darryl Owen

Position: Foundational and Tech Instructor
Email: darryl@utdscubadiving.com

Darryl Owen

Foundational and Tech Instructor

Dubai, UAE

Ela Bertoni

Position: Foundational and Cave Instructor
Email: ela@utdscubadiving.com

Ela Bertoni

Foundational and Cave Instructor

Tulum, Mexico

Evan Ko

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: evan.ko@utdscubadiving.com

Evan Ko

Foundational Instructor

Gwangju, Korea

Fabrizio Catalano

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: fabrizio@utdscubadiving.com

Fabrizio Catalano

Foundational Instructor

Rome, Italy

Flavio Turchet

Position: Foundational, Tech Instructor and IT
Email: flavio@utdscubadiving.com

Flavio Turchet

Foundational, Tech Instructor and IT

Pordenone, Italy

Fran Kucker

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: fran@buceoaqualia.com

Fran Kucker

Foundational Instructor

La Herradura, Granada, Spain

Hak Joon Jung

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: hakjoon.jung@utdscubadiving.com

Hak Joon Jung

Foundational Instructor

Yangjoo, Korea

Han Chongmin

Position: Foundational and Tech Instructor
Email: han.chongmin@utdscubadiving.com

Han Chongmin

Foundational and Tech Instructor

Seoul, Korea

Iñaki de santos Busquet

Position: Foundational and Tech Instructor
Email: inaki62@hotmail.com

Iñaki de santos Busquet

Foundational and Tech Instructor

Valladolid, Spain

Inma Marin Millan

Position: Foundational, Tech, Cave Instructor
Email: inma@sheliv.es

Inma Marin Millan

Foundational, Tech, Cave Instructor

Murcia, Spain

Jake Taesu Kang

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: jake.taesu.kang@utdscubadiving.com

Jake Taesu Kang

Foundational Instructor

Gyeonggi-do, Korea

James Mott

Position: Foundational, Tech Instructor and IT
Email: james@utdscubadiving.com

James Mott is an instructor for Unified Team Diving International, a DIR based training agency that is committed to building thinking divers. A veteran of the Great Lakes area diving community, James started working at Don’s Dive Shop in 1991 just two years after learning how to scuba dive and has managed Sea The World Scuba Center since its opening in 1996. James’ heart lies beneath the cold waters of the Great Lakes along with the ship wrecks that he loves diving, in addition he also has a new found love for Florida’s cave diving and an occasional dip in shark infested waters. Passionate about educating the diving community and sharing an underwater philosophical base, James’ instruction provides infinite possibilities and extends attainable excellence to all divers willing to reexamine their underwater behavior.

James Mott

Foundational, Tech Instructor and IT

Detroit, MI USA

Jason Jaesuk Park

Position: Foundational, Tech/RB Instructor and IT
Email: jason.park@utdscubadiving.com

Jason Jaesuk Park

Foundational, Tech/RB Instructor and IT

Seoul, Korea

Javi Mozos

Position: Foundational and Cave Instructor
Email: javi@utdscubadiving.com

Diving since 2002 / UTD Foundational Instructor.
I have a great experience in the underwater world. I started diving in 2002. Since then I have not stopped training and learning, which has allowed me to dive and explore practically any environment such as cave diving or technical diving in shipwrecks. I am currently an instructor and I teach recreational diving courses of all levels and introduction to technical and cave diving.

Javi Mozos

Foundational and Cave Instructor

Tarragona, Catalonia, Spain

Jay Schier

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: Decompression1@hotmail.com
Can Teach: All Foundational, Side Mount, Essentials of Tech

I started diving in 1994 and teaching soon after. I’ve been fortunate to dive many places around the world but still love the waters of the Pacific North West. I was drawn to UTD as their approach to dive training “made sense”. It was more comprehensive but simpler than what I had been doing before for so many years. I’m very proud of the students I’ve worked with and mentored over the years. Dive safe and dive fun!

Jay Schier

Foundational Instructor

Victoria, British Columbia Canada

Jeanna Edgerton

Position: Foundational and Tech Instructor
Email: jeanna@utdscubadiving.com

Jeanna Edgerton

Foundational and Tech Instructor

Seattle, WA USA

Jeff Christiansen

Position: Foundational and Scientific Diving Instructor
Email: jeff.christiansen@utdscubadiving.com

Jeff Christiansen

Foundational and Scientific Diving Instructor

Seattle, WA USA

Jeff Seckendorf

Position: CEO / Tech Instructor / Instructor Trainer
Email: jeff@utdscubadiving.com
Can Teach: All Foundational, Tech 1, IDC, Instructor Trainers

Jeff Seckendorf

CEO / Tech Instructor / Instructor Trainer

San Diego, CA USA

Jon Edwardsen

Position: Foundational, Tech, Cave Instructor and IT
Email: Jon@marinesportsmanagement.com

Jon Edwardsen

Foundational, Tech, Cave Instructor and IT

Rockville, MD USA

Juandi Alcazar

Position: Foundational and Tech Instructor
Email: juandi@juandialcazar.com

Juandi Alcazar

Foundational and Tech Instructor

Madrid and Murcia, Spain

Kim Cardenas

Position: Foundational Instructor / UTD Board Member
Email: kim@utdscubadiving.com

Kim Cardenas

Foundational Instructor / UTD Board Member

Ventura, CA USA

Letizia Mitri

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: letizia@utdscubadiving.com

Letizia Mitri

Foundational Instructor

Udine, Italy

Marco Alberti

Position: Foundational and Tech Instructor
Email: marco@stylediving.com

I have a great passion for water that is sea, lake or cave. I love wrecks, large coral reefs and vertical walls.

In 1996 during a holiday in Sardinia I started my first diving course and it was love at first sight.

I begin to get passionate about technical diving and I’m going to obtain the trimix instructor license and to spend all my energy on this type of diving training constantly and keeping up to date as much as possible.

All this was not enough and in 2010 the decision to open a dive in Liguria and decide to change your life and in all respects transform this great passion into a full-time job.

I felt that my training needed to evolve and from here approved in UTD where I finally find in the DIR / HOGATHIAN system a 360 degree training, stardardized with protocol and procedure that makes the impression even more fun and safe.

I carry out my activity mainly in Liguria, where our AMP of Portofino gives us magnificent backdrops with a unique biodiversity that is given to us to carry out any type of dive, from that of 10 meters up to 100 meters always with the same charm. There are also many wrecks for all tastes and levels that tell a fascinating story with every dive. However, I am available to organize courses throughout Italy.

Marco Alberti

Foundational and Tech Instructor

Genova, Italy

Marco De Martino

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: docmarco.demartino@gmail.com

At the age of 18 I approach diving, following in my father’s footsteps. The passion is strong but the sense of duty is more so, so the equipment remains in the cellar during the years of study until 2011, the year of the return to the sea.

Since then, every moment has become the right one to put your head in the water. In 2014, already a recreational instructor, I begin to feel the need to “do things the right way” and approach the DIR system. The foundations are gradually strengthened until TECH2 certification is obtained in 2015 and FOUNDATIONAL INSTRUCTOR UTD in 2017.

I currently carry out my activity as an instructor in Campania in Naples for recreational programs up to the Essentials of Tech trying to transfer my passion and respect for the sea to my students.

Marco De Martino

Foundational Instructor

Naples, Italy

Marine Owen

Position: Foundational, Tech Instructor and IT
Email: marine@utdscubadiving.com

Marine Owen

Foundational, Tech Instructor and IT

Dubai, UAE

Martina Carelli

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: martina@utscubadiving.com

Martina Carelli

Foundational Instructor

Venice, Italy

Pete Vanags

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: peter@vanags.com

Pete Vanags

Foundational Instructor

San Diego, CA USA

Peter Kubicka

Position: Foundational and Tech Instructor
Email: peter@dir-team.sk

Peter Kubicka

Foundational and Tech Instructor

Bratislava, Slovak Republic

Saad Rizk

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: saad@utdscubadiving.com

Saad Rizk

Foundational Instructor

Beirut, Lebanon

Samer Laward

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: samer@utdscubadiving.com

Samer Laward

Foundational Instructor

Indianapolis, IN USA

Sangjoon Ahn

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: sangjoon.ahn@utdscubadiving.com

Sangjoon Ahn

Foundational Instructor

Yongin-si, Korea

Sasha Karnilovich

Position: Foundational and Tech Instructor
Email: sasha@utdscubadiving.com

Sasha Karnilovich

Foundational and Tech Instructor

Murcia, Spain

Saufan Mohamed Chkaf

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: saufan@utdscubadiving.com

Currently in love with UTD. I’ve been chasing since I started to find a philosophy that meets or exceeds my diving expectations. Finally found UTD and its instructor community from where I can learn as much as I want and spread the knowlodge achieved from the DIR source. Check out my profile and also how to become a member of this incredible Unified Team Diving at http://www.utdscubadiving.com/

Saufan Mohamed Chkaf

Foundational Instructor

Madrid, Spain

Sergi Pérez Garcia

Position: Tech and Cave Instructor / Instructor Trainer
Email: sergi@rivemar.com

Sergi Pérez Garcia

Tech and Cave Instructor / Instructor Trainer

Mucia, Spain

Sergio Criado

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: sergio@divergentebuceo.com

Sergio Criado

Foundational Instructor

Murcia, Spain

Simone Nägele

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: simone.nagele@utdscubadiving.com

Simone Nägele

Foundational Instructor

Murcia, Spain

Simone Nicolini

Position: Foundational, Tech Instructor and IT
Email: info@argentariodivers.it

Simone Nicolini

Foundational, Tech Instructor and IT

Argentario, Italy

Xavi Escrivá

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: xavi@utdscubadiving.com

Xavi Escrivá

Foundational Instructor

Madrid, Spain

Zach Kennedy

Position: Foundational Instructor
Email: zach@utdscubadiving.com

Zach Kennedy

Foundational Instructor

Crownsville, MD USA